MEN – Quality made in Germany

For more than 60 years, MEN Metallwerk Elisenhütte GmbH in Nassau on the river Lahn has embodied premium quality and reliable security. Our products accompany armies, agencies and special forces and secure their missions with top quality ammunition for handguns.

At our site in Nassau, Germany, approx. 300 employees develop, produce and manage products to ensure safety. Our top priority are the values of competence and reliability as well as personal support of our business partners.

Progress is our standard

We have made progress our standard. This has enabled us to achieve more than 60 successful years in business. MEN has been part of CBC Group since 2007 and is run by an owner who is always committed to the company. This includes investments into the site, technology and above all, our employees. Based on this foundation, MEN produces and develops first-class products.

From the start, we have manufactured cartridges for the German Army and the NATO partners. Therefore, the high quality demands that agencies and the army place on our production have played a pivotal role from day one.

Over the years, the requirements of the various application areas have grown more and more specific and differentiated. To continue to be able to offer each customer optimum solutions and facilitate their product selection, we decided to categorise our products according to existing customer structures into three lines: MilitaryLine, PoliceLine and SniperLine. Another advantage is that the technical production and test parameters are instantly recognizable. While police cartridges are usually certified according to technical guidelines, the qualified army ammunition is identifiable by the “DM” designation within the product name. The designation stands for “Deutsches Modell” (German model) and is issued by the Bundesamt für Ausrüstung, Informationstechnik und Nutzung der Bundeswehr (Federal Office of Bundeswehr Equipment, Information, Technology and In-Service Support, BAAINBw).

Corporate Governance means to run a company well and responsibly. This responsibility is assumed by our Managing Director Hermann Mayer, supported by the members of our management team and each and every employee. One of the most important instruments for its implementation is the Corporate Compliance Policy.
Compliance means adhering to certain rules, legal conformity and avoiding law infringements by means of internal organisational preventative measures. For this purpose, policies, structures and measures are included in the Corporate Compliance Policy.

For many years, MEN has enjoyed a reputation as a company with outstanding strengths. Imprudent and illegal actions can destroy this reputation within one second. This must be prevented. Hence, it is important that each employee bases his/her actions on the principles embedded in our Corporate Compliance Policy.

Naturally, this policy cannot cover all conceivable circumstances, nor can it describe all applicable rules which must be adhered to in each individual case. For example, it is possible that applicable national law stipulates more stringent standards than the ones expressed in this policy. In such a case, the more stringent standards must be observed. Individual employees violating the principles of this Corporate Compliance Policy also face severe consequences.

MEN wants to compete successfully through innovation, quality, reliability and fairness. Where a business transaction is only possible with some form of illegal or unethical conduct, we will not consider it. By rigorously implementing our Corporate Compliance Policy, we demonstrate to the media, our investors, competitors and agencies how important applicable law is to us and how meticulously we make sure it is followed.

CCP as a Guideline for every individual.
MEN is successful through:

  • Innovation and quality
  • Reliability and fairness

In order to produce high-quality premium products, every single area in the company must comply with high standards.MEN places great value on this.We are proud to have met these requirements for several years already and to work on continuous improvement at the same time.

In order to make this tangible for the customers, suppliers and employees as well, the company subjects to regular certifica-tions.This includes qualifications to ISO 9001 and 14001, and also our AEO-certificate from the main customs office in Koblenz.Based on these certificated processes, we qualify our products together with our customers according to their standards, such as the NATO and technical directives.

This makes us a qualified supplier for authorities and armies – not only in Germany, but anywhere in Europe.

The QM manual describes in detail the quality management system introduced by MEN. This achieves a common understanding of all quality management systems and ensures that all quality-related processes, arrangements and procedures applied within MEN are set out in a clear, unambiguous and understandable manner.

This applies in particular to our customers who we can provide with the safety they expect through planned, executed and tested quality features.

The content of MEN’s QM manual serves as a guide for its internal processes in relation to the manufacture of ammunition and subsequently as information for our customers. It is used as a basis and guide for audits.

ISO 9001 describes the quality management system requirements a company has to meet in order to provide products and services which satisfy our customers’ expectations as well as regulatory requirements.

The principles of quality management are as follows:
1. Customer focus
2. Leadership responsibility
3. Inclusion of the people involved
4. Process-oriented approach
5. System-oriented management approach
6. Continuous improvement
7. Fact-based decision-making approach
8. Mutually beneficial supplier benefits

MEN’s introduction of this quality management system was a strategic decision in order to further prioritise its customer focus.

MEN – Quality made in Germany

Seit mehr als 60 Jahren steht die MEN Metallwerk Eisenhütte GmbH in Nassau an der Lahn für erstklassige Qualität und zuverlässige Sicherheit. Mit unseren Produkten begleiten wir Armeen, Behörden und Spezialkräfte und sichern deren Missionen mit qualitativ hochwertiger Munition im Bereich der Hand- und Faustfeuerwaffen.

In unserem Standort in Nassau in Deutschland entwickeln, produzieren und verwalten unsere ca. 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter Produkte für die Sicherheit. An erster Stelle stehen für uns die Werte Kompetenz und Verlässlichkeit sowie die persönliche Betreuung unserer Geschäftspartner.

Fortschritt ist unser Maßstab

Wir haben uns den Fortschritt als Maßstab festgelegt. Daher können wir heute auch auf mehr als 60 Jahre erfolgreiche Unternehmensgeschichte blicken. Seit 2007 gehört die MEN zur CBC Gruppe und wird seither von einem Eigentümer geleitet, der sich stets engagiert um die Firma kümmert. Dazu gehören Investitionen in den Standort, die Technologie und vor allem in die Mitarbeiter. Auf diesem Fundament produzieren und entwickeln wir bei MEN hochwertige Produkte.

Von Anfang an stellen wir Patronen für die deutsche Bundeswehr und die NATO-Partner her. Deshalb stellen die hohen Qualitätsansprüche der Behörden und des Militärs vom ersten Tag an eine grundlegende Signifikanz für unsere Produktion dar.

Im Laufe der Jahre wurden die Anforderungen aus den verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen immer spezifischer und differenzierter. Um dennoch jedem Kunden die bestmögliche Lösung anbieten zu können und die Produktselektion zu erleichtern, entschieden wir uns die Produkte entsprechend den vorhandenen Kundenstrukturen mit den drei Linien Military-, Police- und SniperLine zu kategorisieren. Dies bietet den weiteren Vorteil, dass die technischen Fertigungs- und Prüfparameter auf Anhieb erkennbar sind. Während die Polizeipatronen meistens nach TR (Technischer Richtlinie) zertifiziert sind, erkennt man die qualifizierte Bundeswehrmunition an der „DM“-Bezeichnung im Produktnamen. Die Bezeichnung steht für „Deutsches Modell“ und wird durch das Bundesamt für Ausrüstung, Informationstechnik und Nutzung der Bundeswehr (BAAINBw) vergeben.

Corporate Governance bedeutet ein Unternehmen gut und verantwortungsvoll zu führen. Diese Verantwortung übernimmt unser Geschäftsführer Hermann Mayer und wird dabei von den Mitgliedern des Management-Teams und jedem einzelnen Mitarbeiter unterstützt. Eines der wichtigsten Instrumente für die Umsetzung ist dabei die Corporate Compliance Policy.
Compliance bedeutet, die Einhaltung bestimmter Gebote, Rechtskonformität sowie die Vermeidung von Gesetzesverstößen mittels betriebsinterner organisatorischer Präventionsmaßnahmen. Richtlinien, Strukturen und Maßnahmen dazu sind in der Corporate Compliance Policy enthalten.

Die MEN wird seit Jahren als ein Unternehmen mit ausgeprägten Stärken geschätzt. Dieser Ruf kann durch unüberlegtes und regelwidriges Handeln von einer Sekunde auf die andere beschädigt werden. Dies gilt es zu verhindern. Daher kommt es darauf an, dass jeder Mitarbeiter sich bei seinem Handeln insbesondere durch die Prinzipien leiten lässt, die in unserer Corporate Compliance Policy dargestellt sind.

Natürlich kann sie aber weder alle denkbaren Situationen abdecken, noch alle geltenden und im Einzelfall zu beachtenden Regeln beschreiben. Es mag z.B. vorkommen, dass anwendbares nationales Recht strengere Standards setzt als diejenigen, die in dieser Richtlinie zum Ausdruck kommen. In einem solchen Fall sind die strengeren Standards zu beachten. Auch dem einzelnen Mitarbeiter, der die Grundsätze dieser Corporate Compliance Policy verletzt, drohen empfindliche Konsequenzen.

MEN will im Wettbewerb durch Innovation, Qualität, Zuverlässigkeit und Fairness erfolgreich sein. Sollte ein Geschäft nur dann möglich sein, wenn es mit irgendeiner Form unrechtmäßigen oder unethischen Handelns verbunden ist, kommt es für uns nicht in Betracht. Mit der konsequenten Umsetzung der Corporate Compliance Policy, zeigen wir den Medien, unseren Investoren, Wettbewerbern und den Behörden, wie wichtig uns das geltende Recht ist und wie akribisch wir auf die Einhaltung dessen achten.

CCP als Leitfaden für jeden Einzelnen.
MEN ist erfolgreich durch:
  • Innovation und Qualität
  • Zuverlässigkeit und Fairness

Damit wir Premiummunition in höchster Qualität produzieren können, muss jeder separate Bereich im gesamten Unternehmen hohe Standards erfüllen. Darauf wird bei uns besonders viel Wert gelegt. Wir sind sehr stolz darauf, dass wir diesen Anforderungen bereits seit einigen Jahren gerecht werden können. Dennoch arbeiten wir kontinuierlich an Innovationen und Verbesserungen. Um dies auch für unsere Kunden, Lieferanten sowie Mitarbeiter greifbar zu machen unterziehen wir unsere Produkte und das Unternehmen regelmäßigen Zertifizierungen.

Dazu gehören die ISO 9001 und 14001 sowie unser AEO-Zertifikat des Hauptzollamts Koblenz.

Auf dieser Basis qualifizieren wir unsere Produkte gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden nach ihren Standards wie z.B. NATO und Technische Richtlinien. Somit agieren wir als qualifizierter Lieferant für Behörden und Armee und dass nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern europaweit.

Das QM-Handbuch beschreibt in detaillierter Form das eingeführte Qualitäts-Management-System der MEN. Damit wird ein einheitliches Verständnis aller Qualitätsmanagementverfahren erreicht und sichergestellt, dass alle qualitätsrelevanten Abläufe, Regelungen und Verfahren, die bei der MEN praktiziert werden, klar, eindeutig und verständlich dargelegt werden.

Dies gilt besonders für Kunden, denen durch geplante, ausgeführte und geprüfte Qualitätsmerkmale unserer Produkte und Dienstleistungen die erwartete Sicherheit geboten wird.

Der Inhalt dieses QM- Handbuches dient bei der MEN als Leitfaden für die internen Prozesse bei der Herstellung von Munition und in weiterer Folge als Information für unsere Kunden. Es wird als Grundlage und Leitfaden für Audits herangezogen.

Die ISO 9001 beschreibt die Anforderungen an ein Qualitätsmanagementsystem, die eine Organisation erfüllen muss, um Produkte und Dienstleistungen bereitzustellen, die die Kundenerwartungen und behördliche Anforderungen erfüllen.

Die Grundsätze des Qualitätsmanagements lauten:
1. Kundenorientierung
2. Verantwortlichkeit der Führung
3. Einbeziehung der beteiligten Personen
4. Prozessorientierter Ansatz
5. Systemorientierter Managementansatz
6. Kontinuierliche Verbesserung
7. Sachbezogener Entscheidungsfindungsansatz
8. Lieferantenbeziehungen zum gegenseitigen Nutzen

Die Einführung dieses Qualitätsmanagementsystems bei der MEN war eine strategische Entscheidung um die Kundenorientierung weiter in den Vordergrund zu stellen.